Thokozani Khupe Sworn In As Member Of Parliament

The interim leader of the opposition MDC-T, Thokozani Khupe has been sworn in as a proportional representative Member of Parliament.

Khupe was sworn in together with six other members of the MDC-T to replace a group of MDC Alliance legislators whom the MDC-T recalled from Parliament.

Speaker Jacob Mudenda announced the development indicating that the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) wrote a letter written to Parliament on the matter.

The swearing-in ceremony was presided over by Clerk of Parliament Kennedy Chokuda in the National Assembly this Wednesday.

The other six members who were sworn in are Lindani Moyo, Memory Munotinzwa, Winfielder Musarurwa, Sakhi January, Lwazi Sibanda and Sipho Moyo.

MDC Alliance and some analysts view the replacements as a slap in the face of democracy since the members who are being sworn in were not voted by the electorate.

More: New Zimbabwe

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker